F1 introduced a sprint race format in 2021 to provide additional race action over selected weekends. The sprint race is a 100km dash and takes approximately half an hour.

Points are awarded for both the Driver’s and Constructor’s titles. 1st – 8, 2nd – 7, 3rd – 6, 4th – 5, 5th – 4, 6th – 3, 7th 2, and 8th – 1.

The starting order is set by qualifying, held on Friday, and the fastest driver is awarded Pole Position. The finishing order of the sprint race sets the starting order for the feature race on Sunday.

After much confusion over the name in 2021, it will be called a sprint race in 2022 and referred to as “F1 sprint’ on the screen.

2022 will see the sprint format held at Emilia Romagna Grand Prix in Imola, the Austrian Grand Prix at the Red Bull Ring and the Brazilian Grand Prix.

Sprint race :
Did you find this FAQ helpful?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Andrew Burden

The author Kiwi F1 Fan

Leave a Response