close

What happens if there is a false start?

Category: FAQ

Once all the cars are in their respective grid box, the starting procedure starts.

Cars are fitted with transponders that detect any movement before the lights go out – and a false start may result in the race being stopped and the cars lined up for a restart. 

Any driver who deliberately or repetitively jumps the start may be penalised with a five or ten-second penalty or a drive-through, depending on the advantage gained.

Pastor Maldonado – not actually a false start. Pastor’s reflexes were so good he got the jump on the entire grid…
Did you find this FAQ helpful?
0
0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Andrew Burden

The author Kiwi F1 Fan

Leave a Response