Ayrton Senna da Silva is one of F1’s all-time greats. A Brazilian racing driver who won the Formula One World Drivers’ Championship in 1988, 1990, and 1991.

Senna won 41 Grands Prix and took 65 pole positions, with the latter being the record until 2006.

Senna lost his life on May 1, 1994, in the San Marino Grand Prix, where his race-leading Williams inexplicably speared off the Imola track and hit the concrete wall at Tamburello corner. Millions saw it happen on television.


Andrew Burden

The author Kiwi F1 Fan