The standard start procedure for most track racing is via a series of lights. Once the cars are all in their grid box, the green flag is waved at the back of the field and the race starter initiates the start sequence.

Five red lights come on in succession and once they are all lit the start will switch them off and the race is underway. The starter can switch the lights out at his discretion within a five second period. This is to prevent the drivers from learning the exact timing and jumping the start.

Andrew Burden

The author Kiwi F1 Fan