Formula E (FE) is the world’s first all-electric international single-seater championship. Officially known as the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, its mission is to promote sustainable mobility and to drive electric vehicles to the fore in the race to a better, cleaner future.

Since making its debut on the grounds of the Olympic Park in Beijing in 2014, FE has grown into a global entertainment brand, attracting a grid full of the best racing drivers and teams around.

In 2022 the series will consist of 16 races held in 10 locations. FE is predominantly held on city street circuits for a number of reasons – exposure to electric car technology, no noise or emissions and a need for short circuits that allow a balance of acceleration and braking to maximise battery life. In addition, the track set-up is less intense than F1 due to the, relatively, slower speeds.
FE cars have a powertrain made up of an inverter, a motor and a transmission. The inverter takes the electricity created by the battery and converts it from a direct current (DC) to an alternating current (AC) charge, which the motor uses to turn the wheels.

Cars have an “attack mode” giving the driver eight minutes of boosted power that they can deploy on demand.
Current all-electric racers can reach a top speed of 280 km/h. With 250 kW of power, they can accelerate from 0-100 km/h in 2.8 seconds. 
A FE car weighs a minimum of 903 kg, including the driver and a battery weighing 385 kg.

FE New York :
FE London :
FE Paris :


Andrew Burden

The author Kiwi F1 Fan

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x